Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Management Department announces award winners

Three students majoring in Management at the University of Illinois at Springfield have received awards for excellence.

Jacqueline W. Ripper, of Edelstein, Illinois, is the recipient of the department's 2008 Highest Academic Achievement Award. This honor, which includes a monetary award, recognizes Ripper for academic excellence.

Timothy R. Mulvihill, of Orland Hills, Illinois, is the recipient of The Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award, presented annually to a student who best exemplifies managerial competence, both in the classroom and professionally. Mulvihill is a staff sergeant in the Illinois Air National Guard (Peoria Air National Guard Base). He received a year's subscription to The Wall Street Journal.

Rachel L. Dasenbrock, of Greenville, Illinois, has been awarded the 2008 James C. Worthy Award for writing the best senior paper in the program. This honor, which includes a monetary award, pays tribute to the late James C. Worthy, a charter member of the management faculty. Each year's winner is selected by the faculty who teach the course Strategic Management and Leadership.

Housed within UIS' College of Business and Management, the baccalaureate Management program prepares students to become leaders in all types of organizations through a curriculum designed to develop critical conceptual and interpersonal skills.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.