Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Pat Austin receives second annual CARE Award at UIS

Pat Austin, administrative aide in the Office of Academic Affairs at the University of Illinois at Springfield, is the recipient of the second annual Chancellor's Award to Recognize Excellence in Civil Service. The award was presented at a luncheon held September 18 in the Public Affairs Center on the UIS campus.

The CARE Award, established jointly by UIS Chancellor Richard Ringeisen and the Civil Service Advisory Council, serves to "recognize the exceptional work of all civil service employees" and honors one employee each year.

The award is open to anyone who has held a civil service position on campus at least half time for at least three years. Criteria include demonstrated work ethic, attitude, commendable representation of civil service employees, and support of UIS. The recipient receives $500 for personal use, and an additional $500 is donated to a campus initiative of his/her choice.

Making the presentation, Chancellor Ringeisen observed that the award is made in recognition of "the wonderful things that people do to keep this campus operating every day."

"I'm very honored," said Austin. "People think I know everything, but I don't; I just know who to ask. I couldn't do my job without just about everyone in this room. Thank you"

Other nominees were: Sherri Boner, office manager, International Student Services; Sandy Bristow, office support specialist for the Legal Studies and Public Affairs Reporting departments; Kemy Brown, program administrative assistant for Project MSS and academic adviser for the Teacher Education department; Christi Crumly, business manager in the Athletics Department; Deborah Dove, chief clerk, Admissions; Cindy Ervin, transportation supervisor with Facilities and Services; Bobbie Fults, office support specialist for the Computer Science department; Karen Headrick, office support specialist, Business Administration department; Kathy Henry, food service worker; Jamie McGill, building service foreman; Normajean Niebur, office support specialist, Criminal Justice department; and Bev Weddle, office administrator in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

No comments: