Monday, May 11, 2009

Four UIS students receive Avery Brundage Scholarships

Four students from the University of Illinois at Springfield have been awarded Avery Brundage Scholarships for excellence in academics and athletics. Each winner will receive a $2,400 award for the 2009-2010 academic year.

The recipients include: Kimberly Bartosiak of Bethalto, Ill., a student in College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who is on the volleyball team; Tiffany Blumhorst of Addieville, Ill., who is in the College of Business and Management and plays softball, basketball and golf; Kristan Delafeld of Des Plaines, Ill., a student in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and plays on the softball and soccer teams; and Matthew Reynolds of Peoria, Ill., who is a student in the College of Business and Management and is on the basketball team.

The Avery Brundage Scholarship Fund Committee, composed of nine representatives from the faculties and student bodies of the Chicago, Springfield and Urbana-Champaign campuses, selects students from each U of I campus who engage in athletics for personal development, not as preparation for professional sports. In addition, the students must be working toward bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degrees at the University of Illinois and must be in the upper 25 percent of their undergraduate class or in good academic standing in their graduate program.

The scholarship program was established in 1974 by an endowment from Avery Brundage, University of Illinois alumnus and former president of the International and U.S. Olympic committees.

No comments: